…but what does she eat?

Josh Rogan

Posted in Uncategorized by jrsimon56 on November 7, 2009

I mean, Rogan Josh – Beanie Style!  Tonight I was in Indian Bliss.  Had myself a giant bowl of slow cooker bean based Rogan Josh.  It’s usually a lamb or beef recipe, but I veggie-ied it.  Pretty standard recipe you can find anywhere online, but added the secret ingredient (soy sauce) to get that “meaty” flavor.  I used soymilk and earth balance in place of yogurt.  The spice blend, though, is based on Penzey’s Rogan Josh blend.  I love Penzey’s!  I did this in the slow cooker, which I think really deepened the flavors.  Served it up with basmati and I’ m one full Sun Devil.  Speaking of which, tonight’s the USC game.  It’s here at home, so here’s to hoping for a better game.

food 268

food 271

Meanwhile, one of my favorite bloggers, Katie, is having yet another giveaway.  That lady’s a giveaway maniac!  I don’t know how she keeps it all straight.  Must be one sharp chocolate covered cookie.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Vic said, on November 8, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    Wow! This looks great. I love the rice picture!

  2. Mihl said, on November 9, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    I haven’t had Rogan Josh in ages! I remember that we usually would use a glass of premade sauce and add in lots of vegetables, no meat. Not very authentic, but so yumy. Youra looks wonderful together with the saffron rice. Makes me think I should also start to make this dish from scratch.

  3. jrsimon56 said, on November 9, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    It’s super easy. Pretty much I soaked the beans, threw them in the crock pot with a can of stewed tomatoes and cranked up the heat for a few hours. Then I lowered the heat, put in onions and a ton of garlic (can’t get enough of the stuff!), mixed in the Penzey’s spice along with some soy sauce for depth and soymilk to cream it up. What would have made it better? Fresh cilantro.

  4. aredcardigan said, on November 10, 2009 at 7:14 am

    I’ve actually never had Rogan Josh before cause I had an intense dislike for anything lamb.

    Yours I would eat in a heartbeat. With some warm soft garlicky naan bread….emeril would say ..BAM!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

